Search form


Michael Ragland, Sr., Carol Thompson Lifetime Achievement Award

Photo by David Trozzo

Looking out over a green expanse of farmland, bordered by a split rail fence, you’ll see flowers and vegetables in squared off gardens, animal pens, colorful murals dotting the landscape, and community residents engaging and laughing as they work side by side. This is Langton Green’s farm, just part of an Anne Arundel County residential community that supports adults with intellectual disabilities. And, thanks to Michael (Mike) Ragland’s efforts, the community continues to grow more than produce and sunflowers. It’s growing confidence, collaboration, and a sense of empowerment.

Bringing joy and meaningful work to children and adults with intellectual and developmental disabilities is what keeps Mike going every day. Mike has been volunteering with local nonprofits in the community, working behind the scenes, advocating, mentoring, and helping to secure funds for the nonprofits who serve this population for decades.

Mike, who is often described as a humble, exceptional, and warm-hearted leader, going above and beyond to contribute his service. “Mike is the person who gets the job done; he works tirelessly behind the scenes, taking care of essential details to secure funding for essential programs,” said Langton Green’s Executive Director Kimberley Breton Iaquinta.

Formerly an attorney with Bell and Ragland in Annapolis, Mike also has extensive training as a mediator. And as busy as he was in his professional life, Mike has been equally hardworking in his philanthropic life. In addition to being a Langton Green board member, he serves many other nonprofits such as the Annapolis Civitan Club, a service organization dedicated to serving people with Intellectual and developmental disabilities. Also a member of Civitan International, Mike served in many capacities at the local level over the 29 years he’s been involved, including secretary and historian, and continues to be an inspiring leader to others. Through his years of volunteerism and generous contributions, he has raised thousands in funding and inspired hundreds of colleagues, peers, and community leaders to contribute their service.

“He’s the glue that holds our programs together,” said a fellow Civitan member. “He goes above and beyond, any time, night or day, and gets the job done.”

With Mike’s direction and volunteer service, the Annapolis Civitan Club has provided substantial grants to organizations serving individuals with intellectual and developmental disabilities such as Langton Green, Opportunity Builders, and Providence Center.

Through the decades, his service included founding, directing, and offering legal counsel for the Anne Arundel County Student’s Construction Trades Foundation, Inc.; founding, directing, and offering legal counsel for Friends 2AMI Homeless, Inc., and volunteering in a variety of leadership roles for the United States Pony Clubs, Inc., Maryland region.

Mike, currently the Judge Advocate of the Foundation for Children with Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities (FCIDD), has been a member of the FCIDD Executive Committee for nearly 30 years.

“I can think of no more deserving individual to receive a lifetime achievement award,” said Sly Bieler, FCIDD President. “From developing policies to submitting grants to delivering fruitcake and collecting proceeds from Civitan candy boxes, Mike does it all.”

Michael was nominated by Langton Green.

Learn more about Michael at the 23nd Annual Celebration of Philanthropy on November 17th.

The Carol Thompson Lifetime Achievement Award is named in honor of the late Carol Thompson, the Community Foundation of Anne Arundel County's Founder and its first Executive Director. It is presented to an individual who has made lasting, significant, and impactful contributions to Anne Arundel County by advancing philanthropy through long-standing leadership, creativity in responding to societal problems, and bringing leaders, philanthropists, volunteers, organizations, and businesses together.

Go back to 2023 Awardees